Ambrov Zeor. Issues 1-3. Page #8

AmbrovZeor_1977_1-3_008.tiff

Dublin Core

Title

Ambrov Zeor. Issues 1-3. Page #8

Subject

Science Ficition Fanzine

Description

A fanzine centered around the Sime Gen Universe.

Creator

Ann Pinzow, Jean Airey, Judy Segal, Kerry Schaefer

Source

Georgia Tech Archives: Science Fiction Fanzines Collection: https://www.library.gatech.edu/archives/finding-aids/view?query=Ambrov+Zeor&docId=ead%2FMS420-ead%2FMS420-ead.xml&chunk.id=#2

Date

1984

Contributor

Mani Japra, Collin Richards, Emmanuel Fregene, Ella Sivertsen

Rights

Copyright 1984 by Jacqueline Lichtenberg. All rights reserved to Jacqueline Lichten- berg except where otherwise noted and arranged by prior agreement. All original artwork remains the property of its creator. All letters received by Jacqueline Lichtenberg, Anne Pinzow, Jean Airey, or Kerry Schaefer will be considered potentially publishable material and will be treated as such, unless the writer specifically requests they not be quoted. Publication does not constitute endorsement by the staff of Ambrov Zeor.

Language

english

Type

Science Fiction

Scripto

Transcription

4. HOUSE 9f ZEOR and STAR TREK
Betty Herr

For readers of STAR TREK LIVES! and other devoted Trekfen, it should come as no surprise
to discover that Jacqueline Lichtenberg has used many of the Tailored Effects she isolated in Star
Trek in writing her own novel, HOUSE OF ZEOR. The only surprise is finding out how deep such
similarities can go, if pushed hard enough.

STAR TREK LIVES! goes into great detail in describing the various Tailored Effects and their
relevance to Star Trek, so there is not need to repeat everything here. (Time Out, while everyone
dives for a copy of STL‘.)

The two most obvious Tailored Effects in use are the Coal and Optimism Effects. In HOUSE 'OF
ZEOR, the goal is, ultimately, the rapprochement of Sime and Gen. Optimism Effect is visible in—
the establishment of the Householdings as a means of reaching that goal, with special emphasis on
the first Gen Householding, Rior, planned by Hugh.

‘1' 9

The Future Shock Effect concerns the ability or inability of members of a society to cope with
change. In HOUSE_O_E ZEOR , the channels are a fairly recent Sime evolutionary development.
Neither Sime nor Gen are yet used to this development, and it frightens them for different reasons.
Simes consider the channels perverts, and Gens aren't altogether too sure it isn't some kind of
deceit intended to lead them to their deaths. Yet it is possible for a radical change in social patterns
to take place, as it does in the Householdings, without a complete undermining of society as a whole.
True, the advent of the channels does create a social change, which in HOUSE 9;? ZEOR, is rein-
forced by the growing public knowledge of Zelerod's Doom. This "perversion" will have to become
the norm if anyone is to survive. But the Householdings show that change CAN be beneficial to all
concerned.

The Alien Effect operates at several different levels.
First, both Sime and Gen are alien to the reader, the Sime more so because of his biology.

Second, bothHugh and Klyd are "aliens" in their own societies. Here, though, Klyd has the
advantage. He may be generally regarded among Simes as a pervert, but he at least has the support
of the Householdings. He also has the advantage of not being in violation of Sime law. In that, he is
not so isolated as Hugh, who would be executed, in Gen Territory, for his sympathy with the Simes
and his cooperation with them. Because of this death penalty, it is almost impossible for Hugh to
make his feelings known to other Gens ~- who might 'very well turn him in for treason. In his own
Territory, then, he is much more isolated than Klyd in his.

On still another level, Hugh is an alien in Sime Territory. Despite his understanding -- ele-
mentary at first -- of their society, he is still not “among his own kind".

5. For the Psychological Visibility Effect, it would be hard to beat the Simes' ability to read emo-

* tions. . Skilled and compassionate channels like Klyd can truly understand what another feels and
help him over the hardest spots. And it would seem that the Householdings, anyway, operate under
something like IDIC. They accept Hugh for himself -- for his abilities -- without a qualm. They
even put up with his tantrums -- or at least Klyd does -- because they understand the cause, and
accept Hugh as good in himself despite his somewhat eccentric behaviour.

Hugh has his blind spots in the area of Psychological Visibility. However, he is working against
great odds: he doesn't have the Sime ability to read emotions, nor has he completely overcome his
ingrained Gen prejudices. But he's learning. Because of his Companion potential, combined with
an artist's sensibilities, he becomes much more able to see below the surface during the course of
the novel. Consider his drawing of the Martesa, in Imil; his general concern for Klyd during their
captivity; and the post-escape transfer in the glade -- and then try to imagine an ordinary out—Ter-
ritory Gen acting the same way.

The Admiration Effect, like canonisation, only applies to those who do things above and beyond
the ordinary. Hugh and Klyd both fill this requirement, in the full measure. Klyd is gentle and com-
passionate, and would prefer to live in his Householding in peace. Yet he is forced into a position of
leadership because of the great abilities he was born with, and because of his total dedication to the

5

Document Viewer